Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

Concurrent Enrollment

Overview

A concurrent enrollment course is a course in which a high school student receives college credit and the instructor is a high school teacher.  A dual enrollment course is a course in which a high school student receives college credit for a course taught by a college instructor.

 

How will I benefit?

There are many benefits of taking college classes while you’re still in high school. You can:

  • get a head start on college
  • earn college credits early (possibly earning your college degree in less than four years)
  • challenge yourself academically
  • get a taste of the academic and social aspects of college life

Am I eligible?

Check with the counselor at your high school for eligibility.

Which classes can I take?

Check with the counselor at your high school for eligibility.

How many classes can I take?

Check with the counselor at your high school for limitations.

Can I take classes online?

Dual enrollment online courses are available for students with permission/support from their principal.

 

The High School Concurrent Program is intended for high school students interested in the challenge of completing college courses at Arkansas State University-Newport. High School Concurrent students earn college credit that may also be applied to high school graduation requirements.

Below you can find ASU-Newport's Concurrent Partners and their contacts.

Bay High School

Title

Phone

Email

Lisa Oppenheim

Counselor

870-781-3297

loppenheim@bay.k12.ar.us

Brad Brannen

Principal

870-781-3297

bbrannen@bay.k12.ar.us

 

Office

870-781-3297 Ext 226

 

Brookland High School

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Kami Barkley

Counselor

932-2080 ext 120

kbarkley@bpsbearcats.com

Stevin Hovis

Principal

870-217-6714

shovis@bpsbearcats.com

 

Office

870-932-8610 Ext 114

 

EPC High School
Harrisburg High School
Jackson County High School

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Angelia Holland

Counselor

870-349-2657 ext. 33

aholland@bulldogs.k12.ar.us

Michael Holland

Principal

501-454-7570

mholland@bulldogs.k12.ar.us

 

Office

870-349-2657 Ext 233

 

 

Marked Tree High School

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Bobbie Pharis

Counselor

 

pharisb@mtree.k12.ar.us

Matt Wright

Principal

870-358-2891

wrightm@mtree.k12.ar.us

 

Office

 

 

 
McCrory High School

 

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Lesley Norton

Counselor

870-919-6561

Lesley.norton@mccroryschools.org

Aaron Wiggins

Principal

979-215-0284

wigginsa@mccrory.k12.ar.us

 

Office

870-731-2574

 

 

Newport High School

 

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Wayne Gipson

Counselor

501-388-5070

wgipson@newportschools.org  

Terri Cane

Principal

870-523-1321

tcane@newportschools.org 

 

Office

870-523-1344

 

 
Trumann High School

 

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Cherrie McCoy

Counselor

870-926-0499

Cherrie.mccoy@trumannwildcat.com

Michelle Waymire

Principal

870-702-1891

michelle.waymire@trumannwildcat.com

 

Office

870-483-5354

 

 
Westside High School

 

Contact

Title

Phone

Email

Carol Little

Counselor

870-935-7501

clittle@westsideschools.org 

Michael Graham

Principal

870-935-7501

 mgraham@westsideschools.org  

 

Office

870-935-7501