Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

ASUN Lobby
February 2021

ASUN selects 2021 NISOD Excellence Award recipient

Mark Constant, Advanced Instructor of Energy Control Technology.

An Arkansas State University-Newport faculty member is the recipient of the annual NISOD Excellence Awards. ASUN’s 2021 honoree is Mark Constant, Advanced Instructor of Energy Control Technology. Mark Constant is a longstanding faculty member at ASU-Newport and received this honor because of his dedication to his students and the institution. 

NISOD’s Excellence Awards recognize men and women each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. In 1989, in connection with a University of Texas at Austin national study of teaching excellence, NISOD hosted its first ceremony honoring NISOD Excellence Award recipients. The response to that ceremony was so positive that NISOD began what has become the largest and most inspiring gathering that recognizes the contributions and achievements of community and technical college faculty, administrators, and staff.

Mark Constant’s colleagues notice his dedication and enthusiasm inside the classroom.

“Mark continually strives to improve the Energy Control Technology (ECT) program as he has done for two decades,” said Robert Burgess, Dean for Applied Science at ASUN. “Through advisory boards, professional development, curriculum research, etc., Mark ensures his students receive the most up to date training possible. It is not uncommon for Mark to take a phone call from a current or former student needing assistance while on the job during the workday, night, and on weekends. Of course, Mark is always happy to help!”

“Mark runs his program with integrity, keeps his students at the forefront of everything he does, and serves as an amazing representative for ASUN both in the community and among his industry partners,” said Dr. Holly Smith, ASUN's Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. “He is continually working to ensure his program is relevant and is visible through professional affiliations and partnerships. He challenges his students to be the best in their field and to commit to continuous learning while guiding them into the workforce. Mark has served as a mentor to many faculty and students throughout the years and continues to exhibit his love and commitment to student success, shared governance, and excellence at ASUN. We are beyond thankful for his continued service and dedication to his students.”

Excellence Award recipients are recognized during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, to be held virtually April 28-30, 2021. Excellence Awards recipients receive a specialty cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon. The names, titles, and colleges of all Excellence Award recipients are included in a special booklet that features congratulatory ads from many of the recipients’ colleges. In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the Conference Program with a special icon.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We’re honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements.”

NISOD stands for the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development and is a membership organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges.

Please join us in congratulating Mark Constant.