Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

ASUN Lobby
October 2019

ASU-Newport hosts 2019 Scholarship & Donor Recognition Luncheon

Arkansas State University-Newport hosted its annual Scholarship and Donor Recognition Luncheon on October 30, 2019. The event is designed to not only honor ASU-Newport students for their academic success and scholarship awards, but it's also a time for ASUN to show appreciation to the generous community members that support our students with monetary scholarships. 

Three students spoke at the luncheon to covey their gratitude for the scholarships they've received. A common sentiment was found in each speech-these students can pursue their dreams because of the scholarship support they receive. They also hope one day they have the financial means to give back to ASUN in the same capacity. 

Thanks to the generosity of our donors, for the 2020 fiscal year, more than $5 million in scholarships have been awarded to ASU-Newport students. These scholarships not only support the success of students but also help ASU-Newport build and maintain strong relationships with community members. These relationships serve as great resources for students entering the workforce or transferring to 4-year institutions.  

ASU-Newport would like to acknowledge the following scholarships for supporting student success: AACET Arkansas Assoc. of Correctional Employees Trust, Arkansas Association of University Women, Alton E. & Thelma McCartney Trust, AR Sports Hall of Fame, Arkansas EMS Foundation, Arkansas Department of Career Education, Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Conservation Scholarship, Arkansas State University Foundation, Inc. (Tapp Scholarship), BC Smith Memorial, Brookland School District, Brenda J. Casteel Scholarship, Arkansas Community Foundation, Cobb Family Scholarship Endowment, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, David L. & Imogene Johnston Scholarship, Des Arc School District (Crow Tucker Scholarship), DeWitt School District, Dr. James & Laura Jane Collier, Eastern Arkansas Scottish Rite, Florence Moore, First National Bank, First United Methodist Church Nettie Moseley Youth Fund, Fowler Foods Hospitality Scholarship, Gaylon Dilday Scholarship, Gillett Farmers, Holden Avenue Church of Christ, Hytrol Conveyor, Jackson Co. Single Parent Scholarship, Jane M. Pratt Scholarship, Mark Grosvenor Scholarship, McCartney Scholarship Merchants and Planters Bank Trust Department, Medallion Food Foundation Scholarship, MFA Foundation, Dewitt Bank & Trust Co. Moll Foundation, NEA Baptist Memorial Hospital Auxiliary, Nucor Foundation, Remarkable Future Scholarship Chick-Fil-A, Inc., SMART Scholarship, Steenburgen Memorial Scholarship, University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service-Craighead Co. Extension Office, W.P. Sturgis Foundation, White River Lodge No. 37, Woodmen Life Focus Forward Scholarship, Chris Glenn FMH Conveyors, Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative, Clay Co. Electric Cooperative, Craighead Co. Electric Cooperative, Farmers Electric Cooperative, First Electric Cooperative, North Arkansas Electric Cooperative, Ouachita Electric Cooperative, Ozark Electric Cooperative, Southwest Electric Cooperative and South Central Electric Cooperative. 

Click here to see all of the photos from the luncheon. 

If you are interested in supporting ASU-Newport through scholarships contact Teriann Turner at .