Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

ASUN Lobby
April 2018

ASUN-Marked Tree hosts High School Skills Competitions

Arkansas State University-Newport at Marked Tree hosted 130 High School Students from 12 high schools throughout Northeast Arkansas to compete in one of three competitions: Automotive Service Technology, Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology and Computer & Networking Technology.

Zack Yarbro of Marked Tree High School took top honors in the Automotive Service Technology division. Finishing second was Donovan Gibbons of Nettleton High School, while Zachary Tabor of Jonesboro High School took third place.  

Automotive Service Technology Winners
Automotive Service Winners (from left): Matthew Wheeley, ASUN Instructor of Automotive Service Technology; Donovan Gibbons, Nettleton; Zack Yarbro, Marked Tree; Zachary Tabor, Jonesboro;
Ashley Buchman, ASUN Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs

In the Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology division, Drake Walker of Riverside High School took first place, followed by second place Noah Parker of Greene County Tech High School and third place Noah Warmth of Greene County Tech High School.

Collision Repair First Place Winner
Collision Repair & Refinishing First Place (from left): David Milam, ASUN Instructor of Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology; Drake Walker, Riverside; Jeff Smith NEACTC Auto Collision Instructor

Collision Repair 2nd - 3rd Place winners
Collision Repair & Refinishing Winners (from left): David Milam, ASUN Instructor of Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology; Noah Parker, GCT; Noah Warmth, GCT; Jeff Smith, NEACTC Auto Collision Instructor

The Computer & Networking Technology's top honor went to Matthew Bridges of Jonesboro High School. Finishing second was Noah Marshall of Jonesboro High School followed by Ravin Dowdy of Jonesboro High School.  

Computer & Networking Technology Winners
Computer & Networking Winners (from left): Daniel Adamson, ASUN Advanced Instructor of Computer Networking Technology; Noah Marshall, Jonesboro High School; Matthew Bridges, Jonesboro High School; Ravin Dowdy, Jonesboro High School;  Ashley Buchman, ASUN Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Winners in each division received a $1,500 renewable scholarship to ASUN along with tool kits. Second place finishers were awarded $1,000 renewable scholarships to ASUN and tool kits, while third place finishers received $500 renewable ASUN scholarships and tool kits.

Students from Westside, Paragould, Walnut Ridge, Valley View, Brookland, Greene County Tech, Jonesboro, Bay, Harrisburg, Newport, Riverside and Nettleton took part in the competition.