Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

ASUN Lobby
March 2018

ASUN Surgical Technology Student Receives Scholarship

The Arkansas Assembly of Surgical Technologists (ARSA) held their Spring Workshop March 10 at the Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock.  ARSA presented their second “Daniel Castleberry Memorial Student Scholarship” at this workshop.  The scholarship was open to any student currently enrolled in a Surgical Technology program in Arkansas.  In addition to being a student, the requirements for the scholarship were: completing the application, being in good standing at their surgical technology school, a current student member of the Association of Surgical Technology (AST), and writing an original 500 word essay titled “What I Enjoy the Most About Scrubbing”.  The scholarship was named in memory of ARSA first President Gennie Castleberry’s son Daniel, who passed away suddenly in 2016.  A scholarship committee then selected Lindsey Brietz of Arkansas State University-Newport at Marked Tree as the winner of the second annual ARSA “Daniel Castleberry Memorial Scholarship”.

Lindsey Brietz
Lindsey Brietz - 2018 Daniel Castleberry Memorial Scholarship Recipient