Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

ASUN Lobby
October 2017

ASUN Student Awarded 2017 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship

Aaron Gatewood PTK Beta Nu Gamma Chapter President

Arkansas State University-Newport today announced that student Aaron Gatewood has been named a 2017 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar and recipient of a $1,000 scholarship.
The scholarship, awarded to Phi Theta Kappa members, recognizes students like Gatewood for their scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential, and helps defray educational expenses while enrolled in an associate degree program. Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is limited to associate degree and certificate students who have attained a 3.25 GPA after completion of 12 or more credit hours.
“We applaud the outstanding academic efforts and leadership potential that Aaron has displayed while attending ASUN,” said Betsy Walker, ASUN PTK Lead Advisor and Assistant Professor of Science. “Aaron is well on his way to achieving his academic goals and we look forward to the contributions he’ll make as both an ASUN student leader and a future community leader.”

About the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation
The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation provides $200,000 in funding for the scholarships, with $25,000 set aside for members who are veterans or active members of the U.S. military. The remaining amount is supported by donations to the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation and provides Leaders of Promise Global Scholarships, earmarked for international students.
About Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than three million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. Learn more at