Arkansas State University - Newport

Search form

News Page Header


Arkansas State University-Newport is proud to announce students won more than a dozen medals at the SkillsUSA competition in Hot Springs April 8-10. Competing against other community colleges in the state, students won medals in the following categories:

A cosmetology student at Arkansas State University-Newport at Marked Tree received a scholarship from Great Clips in Jonesboro. Raya Malone was awarded the scholarship that included $500 worth of cosmetology tools.

Arkansas State University-Newport at Marked Tree hosted nearly 100 area high school students to test their skills in three competitions. Students competed in Automotive Service Technology, Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology and Computer Networking Technology.

Arkansas State University-Newport is excited to share Clayton Baker is the recipient of the Williams/Blackburn Scholarship. The Williams/Blackburn Scholarship was created to honor Dr. Larry Williams and his wife Dr. Amy Blackburn. Dr. Williams was ASU-Newport's first ever chancellor.

Arkansas State University-Newport hosted nearly 100 high school students to give them hands-on opportunities in learning more about health professions.

At a young age, Raya Malone knew she wanted to become a Cosmetologist. While she got “off track” for a bit, Malone found her way back to getting her dream job.

Independence is fascinating, empowering but also a bit frightening. The lure of creating one’s own destiny is a glorious and invigorating phenomenon, but it also evolves through a long process and carries in its’ wake considerable vulnerabilities.

The Beta Nu Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Arkansas State University-Newport is proud to announce the induction of 17 new members. At a ceremony held on March 12, 2019, ASU-Newport’s PTK chapter recognized new members who met all criteria to enter the organization.


While getting an education may not always seem like the coolest thing to do, Jimmy Love knows the value!

Jimmy Love is a student in ASU-Newport’s Diesel Technology program.