History of ASUN

History of Arkansas State University – Newport

Arkansas State University – Newport was founded as White River Vocational Technical School in 1976.

In 1992, the school merged with ASU – Beebe becoming ASU Beebe / Newport and in April 2000, the Arkansas Board of Higher Education gave its approval for ASUN to become a stand-alone campus.

The institution was tasked with obtaining a separate budget appropriation, gaining accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, and hiring a Chancellor.

Those tasks were completed and in 2002, ASUN became a stand-alone college. Jackson County residents also supported the institution by passing
a half-cent sales and use tax dedicated to ASUN.

The tax passed with 67% of the votes. Since 2002, enrollment has nearly tripled. The college now has three campuses:

Newport (main campus), Jonesboro and Marked Tree.

ASUN Mission Statement